Board of Directors

A charitable Foundation, the National Media Awards Foundation’s mandate is to recognize, support and promote excellence in content creation of Canadian print and digital publications through three annual programs of awards, professional development initiatives and national publicity efforts.

Executive Committee / Comité de direction 

President / Présidente
Melony Ward
Publisher / Éditrice
Canada’s History and Kayak

Vice President DPA / Vice-président (DPA)
Kenny Yum
Senior Director, Innovation and Partnerships at CBC News, Current Affairs and Local / Directeur senior, Innovation et partenariats à CBC News, Current Affairs et Local

Vice President NMA / Vice-président (NMA)
Colin Leslie
Editor in chief / Rédacteur en chef
Medical Post | EnsembleIQ

Treasurer / Trésorière
Liana Bell, CA, CPA
Partner / Associée
Hilborn LLP

Past President / Ancien président
Terry Sellwood
Retired, formerly President / Ancien président
Cottage Life Media 

Directors / Administrateurs

Elamin Abdelmahmoud
Editor, Social Media and News Curation Responsable des médias sociaux et de l’édition des nouvelles
Buzzfeed Canada

Jean-Philippe Cipriani
Editor in chief / Rédacteur en chef

Matt Frehner
Head of Visual Journalism / Responsable du journalisme visuel
The Globe and Mail

Jacqueline Loch
EVP Customer Innovation / Vice-présidente exécutif, innovation client

SJC Content

Anna Minzhulina
Freelance Art Director & Designer / Directrice artistique et designer graphique indépendante 

Our Team / Notre équipe 

Barbara Gould
Executive Director / Directrice générale

Liz Harmer
Director of Judging / Directrice du jugement

Emily McDonald
Manager, Programming and Special Projects / Gestionnaire, programmation et projets spéciaux

Shannon Webb-Campbell
Indigenous Guest Editor / Rédactrice invitée autochtone

Bronwyn James
Graphic Design Intern / Stagiaire, conception graphique

Darina Litvina
Programming and Publicity Intern / Stagiaire, programmation et publicité

The NMAF gratefully acknowledges its government funders:

This project has been made possible in part by the Government of Canada.